Thank you for reading's breaking news stories.

European Parliament votes to require visa from American travellers

 article about European Parliament votes to require visa from American travellers
European Parliament has voted to end visa-free travel for Americans for a year due to lack of reciprocity.

Right now travellers from the United States can go anywhere in EU without the need for a visa, while EU citizens from countries such as Poland, Romania, Cyprus, Bulgaria and Croatia are required to have a visa for entering the US.

Because of that the view from Brussels is that "The EU Commission is legally obliged to take measures temporarily reintroducing visa requirements for US citizens, given that Washington still does not grant visa-free access to nationals of five EU countries."

Taking away the visa-free travel option from Americans starting from two months from now is meant to force the US government to come to negotiation table and ideally get visa requirement removed fom aforementioned European countries.

However, most likely the plan to start requiring visa from Americans will be cancelled if the US just says that they intend to harmonise the rules soon.

have your say

Welcome to TheCheers! We've been around for a long time now, since 2004, publishing articles by people from all over the world. Roughly 300 people from 30 different countries have written for us over the years. Should you want to become a volunteer contributor, be sure to contact us!

Additional info

Some of our content may be related to gambling.

get in touch

You can contact us via the email you can find on our contact page, via telegram @thecheers, or through our The Cheers Facebook page. No real point in contacting us through The Cheers Twitter account.